Home | Valente and DiRenzo Family History - Historical Background Maps - The Principal Mountain Chains of Italy

The Mountain Ranges of Italy

Map showing the mountain ranges of Italy, 12 KB

Map Source: the map above is based on a map in the book Italy 1, from the series "The World and its Peoples" (Greystone Press, 1964, 1968), page 11. Although the original map has neither title nor caption, its key uses the expression "Principal mountain chains".

The Italian Peninsula's Mountain Ranges

The principal mountain ranges of the Italian peninsula are the Alps and the Apennines. If a capital letter "T" is drawn the entire length of the peninsula, then the Alps are the horizontal crossbar of the letter, and the Apennines are the letter's vertical shaft.

A  L  P  S

(If the peninsula were a donkey standing on its hind legs with its head thrown back, the Alps would be its head from ears to nose and the Apennines would be its spine.) The Apennines are sub-divided into many individual mountain ranges, among which in the central southern zone are the Matese and the Maiella (Majella), and in the area of Gambatesa the Sannio and the Daunia.

Related Map: The mountain ranges of Abruzzo and Molise. This is a section of the map above to which with the regional boundaries of Abruzzo, Molise and Puglia have been added.

The URL of this Web page: https://www.roangelo.net/valente/typgraph.html
Last revised: 20 February 2007 : 2007-02-20 by Robert [Wesley] Angelo.

Back to top of page

Home | Site Map | Site Search | The Origins of Sant'Angelo d'Alife | Valente and DiRenzo Family History - More Historical Background